Royal Cambrian Academy


Royal Cambrian Academicians (Members) are practising painters, sculptors, printmakers and architects, who after a selection process are elected by their peers to become member. The current President of the Academy is Jeremy Yates, there can be up to 150 Academicians at any one time.

Constituted in 1881 by Queen Victoria the Royal Cambrian Academy is a centre for artistic excellence in Wales, it aims to exhibit work by members of the Academy, to promote up and coming artists of quality, to mount historical exhibitions and offer a lively venue for education.

In the late 19th century, North Wales was home to the first artists' colony in Britain.  It emerged from the summer sojourns of David Cox to Betws-y-Coed between 1844 and 1856.  By 1881 the Conwy Valley was at the peak of its fame as a home and resort for large numbers of professional and amateur artists. The prospect of viewing painters at work attracted a great many visitors, as a consequence the seaside town of Llandudno emerged as a centre for the sale of many such pictures.

The seven men who launched the Academy were all devotees of the artists' colony, most of them originally from the north west of England from where Betws-y-Coed had become easily accessible by train.

Plan a visit to the Royal Cambrian Academy

The Gallery is located in the centre of Conwy just off the High Street behind Plas Mawr.

Getting to the Royal Cambrian Academy